Tumbleweed on the PCT and Beyond

A Journal

Part One of the Journey

“It’s impossible.” said pride.
“It’s risky.” said experience.
“It’s pointless.” said reason.
“Give it a try.” whispered the heart

The Pacific Crest Trail (PCT) is a 2,660-mile national scenic trail that runs from Mexico to Canada through California, Oregon and Washington. The PCT traverses 24 national forests, 37 wilderness areas and 7 national parks. The PCT passes through 6 out of 7 of North Americas ecozones.

I’m planning to walk/hike/crawl the whole thing starting in Mexico mid April and hopefully ending before my 70th birthday in Canada on the 6th of October.

I’m seeing out my 60′s in a way that I may remember in my 90′s. I’ll think back fondly on it the same way I now think back on my time in London and Oxford, 1978 – 1984, studying the violin and practicing Buddhism. It was a long time ago but I do remember I had a blast and learned a lot about myself and my world.

I also think back fondly on my time swimming with wild dolphins in 2003. I did that to learn what there is to learn by doing that. That is exactly why I am hiking the PCT, to learn what there is to learn in doing that.

I have had issues with my back ever since age 12 or 13 when I got kicked down a steep slope by a donkey while on a pack trip. I’ve lived with it being everywhere from sort of okay most of the time, to completely debilitating for long stretches ever since.

Finally I am old enough, thank you Medicare, to afford to get physical therapy. It has opened a whole new world! I think my current obsession with hiking the PCT comes from all within me that has been tamped down by pain and the threat of pain all these years wanting to bust loose for a change! I’m still not totally 100% and maybe never will be, but I’m sure to the point that I’m ready to bust out of this chair!

So that’s my story. That’s how I’m spending the next year of my life, getting ready for and doing and recovering from the PCT. If you would like to follow me in my journey stay tuned for the blow by blow action.

Single Post Navigation

10 thoughts on “Part One of the Journey

  1. yayoubetcha on said:

    I’m only doing the first 767 miles of the PCT in 2014, but I hope to see you out there. As you approach Mt. Bachelor in Oregon, I’d be happy to get you to a great resupply spot in Bend, Oregon, my home.

  2. I’ll be watching for you along the trail … I am known as Where’s Chris? because I appear along the trail at random places with apples or small treats as the herd moves through Oregon and Washington. For some, I will meet them several times along their journey … for others it will be a single chance encounter. You just never know.

  3. I’m so excited for you! I’m here for you as you reach far NorCal. Can’t wait to meet you and follow along on this journey.

  4. I will definitely be following along. I plan on hiking the Oregon section this year, and I hope, by chance I will meet you. You inspire me. Best of luck.

  5. Inspiring! Can’t wait to read all about it.

    Monkeybars, section hiker

Leave a Reply

